Why Baking Halloween Cookies is Good for the Soul!


Hey guys, I hope you are enjoying your fall activities and this really really really cold weather!  I’m definitely NOT enjoying it.  I NEVER enjoy it.  I’m not a cold-lover.  There I said it for all of you to gaff at me!  I’m sitting here at my desk in lab beside our 12 foot tall window (or taller bc the entier building is just windows) and I’m freezing.  I don’t do well with cold.  EVER.  I have a bleeding disorder so I’m constantly anemic not to mention the fact that I’ve had spinal fusions and stay cold ALL the live long day.

I’m one of those weird people that is completely fine with enjoying a 90 degree day in the winter!

I feel though like I have completely let my kids down this year.  We normally go to the pumpkin patch like 3 times by the time Halloween has hit, but this year I just haven’t been able to make it.  I’m not so sure why.  Money has been extremely tight as it is for everyone and I just can’t seem to get the want to spend 100 bucks each time I go.  The kids haven’t really complained, but I just so enjoy going on the hayride and picking out our pumpkins, eating kettle corn, getting hot apple cider, and watching the kids pet the animals.  I am totally enthralled by the country as I guess most of us who were raised in the country are!

However, I did actually bake Halloween cookies with my kiddos.  I love to do things like this with them.  There will be a time when they won’t want to do anything with me, but for now they do.  I’m hoping they will always enjoy our time together!  We not only baked the cookies but we got to cut them out using the Williams and Sonoma Halloween Cookie Cutters I got 75% off a few days ago!

Our cookie cutters

I used the recipe on the back of the box.  It tasted good but I think I found a better one that I’m going to use to make my Thanksgiving Cookies.  Here it is off of WIlliam & Sonoma Website.  Please post your favorite cookie cutter recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 16 Tbs. (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room
    temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 piece vanilla bean, about 2 inches long
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • Colored sugars and decorating pens

Directions:

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater, beat together the butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Beat in the egg yolks one at a time, beating well after each addition. Cut the vanilla bean in half lengthwise and, using a small, sharp knife, scrape the seeds into the butter mixture. Mix well.

In a sifter, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Sift the flour mixture directly onto the butter mixture. Reduce the speed to low and beat until well mixed.

Divide the dough into 4 equal portions. Shape each portion into a ball, then flatten the balls into disks. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. (The dough can be prepared up to 3 days ahead.) Let it soften slightly at room temperature before continuing.

Position a rack in the upper third of an oven and preheat to 350°F. Butter 2 large baking sheets.

On a lightly floured work surface, roll out a dough disk 1/4 inch thick. Using cookie cutters, cut out desired shapes. Transfer the cutouts to the prepared baking sheets. Gather up and reroll the scraps and cut out more cookies. Repeat with the remaining dough disks.

Bake until the cookies are golden on the edges, about 8 minutes. Transfer the cookies to wire racks and let cool completely. Decorate the cookies as desired with colored sugars and decorating pens. Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 1 week. Makes 24 to 30 cookies, depending on cutter size.

Adapted from Williams-Sonoma Kitchen Library Series, Holiday Baking, by Jeanne Thiel Kelley (Time-Life Books, 1995).

Here is what their turned out to look like!

Cutting the cookies out!

Starting to decorate

Finally done!

Ok…just so you know mine looked NOTHING like that, but it was fun none the less…so lets take a look at mine and the kiddos!

cutting it out

Some of our cutouts

 

The cooked cookies

 

So, you can see that it looks like that they didn’t look exactly like the one’s on the website..and that is true, BUT here me out…I’m not a chef..yep that’s all I got, but I think that if you made the cookie thicker and pressed harder it would work out better…it still looked great..we just can’t really decorate..or our ADD gets in the way and we get bored..either way it was FUN!

 

Selena’s cookies..she did great!

 

OK, selena is obviously a pro..now look at mine and Dorian’s…ours just doesn’t look right compared to hers! lmao

 

Mine on the right and Dorian’s on the left

 

So as you can see Selena’s was better..mine looks like they were done by a 2 year olds and even Dorian’s is better…..I can be humble when I need to be…I just got so BORED with decorating! lmao  However, we had a great time..and I think it’s very important to remember that…to remember it’s not about the end result but about the process….

That’s true for a lot of things in life..it’s the journey that gets you to the end.  I really want to savor these days..I love doing this stuff with my kids………there will always be discipline and arguments and regrets, but there won’t always be activities of these sorts to outweigh any of the bad unless you make it happen.  Just like your marriage is work so is your relationship with your kids.  I am not and never will be perfect.  I can always be better…I have no doubt that I’m not a perfect mom….but I want to at least try.  I think that if I can continue these type of activities then it tips the favor into the good…it’s all about checks and balances!

Don’t forget…you will always have regrets…and that’s ok that’s how we learn, but if we live with reservations in our heart then we are not free people!  

~LenaJeanne

PS…comment with your favorite cookie recipe!!!!!! I would love to try out other recipes!

6 thoughts on “Why Baking Halloween Cookies is Good for the Soul!

  1. Glad you and the babies had fun Sweetie. And you are right – you don’t have one art-istic gene in you!! Love you silly girl! Selena did a terrific job, and Dorians looked pretty good too! Wish I was there!

Leave a Reply

