Thanksgiving Crafts


Ok, I’m known to start a project and stop it.  Seriously, I really honestly am.   I never finished the Halloween wreath I was suppose to make and instead am going to turn it into a bright christmas wreath…hopefully!

 

I really am a completely lazy person.  Noone believes me because I do so much, but it’s not that I want to do it it’s that I had too..I would be fine living out the rest of my days with books surrounding me! lol

 

With that said..I love the finished projects, I just abhor actually having to do it.  I’m one of those A type personalities that feel like I should have the right to tell others what to do and they should do it. I KNOW! It’s horrible and I completely admit to my faults.  Do I act like that? NO! I would feel guilty as hell.  Unless it’s my man..then he has to do what I say so he continues to have the privilege of my company! 😉

 

I do however, want to finish my wreath…and make this REALLY awesome ornate framed chalkboard….

 

Here’s the link

 

http://www.hgtv.com/handmade/how-to-make-an-ornate-framed-chalkboard/index.html

 

Here’s the supplies

  • large wooden frame
  • 1/4″ hard board cut to fit in frame (Tip: You can have it cut at your local hardware store)
  • gold leaf (2-3 packages for large frame)
  • leaf sizing
  • 1″ artist brush
  • soft mophead brush
  • 1″ sponge brush
  • latex gloves
  • clean rag
  • dark walnut oil-based wood stain
  • spray primer
  • chalkboard paint
  • foam roller
  • paint tray
  • small nails
  • hammer

Here is the final product:

 

Don’t worry mine won’t look anything like it, but I am going to make this for December to count down the days of christmas!  Mine may end up looking like crap.  Go to the link…check out the procedure..and let me know what you think.

 

I would love to get some input on better tips on how to make this project more successful!

 

BTW I HOPED YOU VOTE!

 

Love you guys!

 

~LenaJeanne

 

Thankful for the men and women who gave their lives for the simple act of voting!

Leave a Reply

